Tags

,

I’ve had to wait a few days to write this review so it doesn’t come out as a gush-fest.  When you’re the third book into a series, well lets face it you’re either in and devoted or you’ll give up and start reading something else.  I’m definitely in the former category when it comes to these books.  By this stage I’m so invested in Kate and Curran that I haven’t just brought the books I’ve read, I’ve brought all of them in written and audio format and struggle to stop myself from reading them over and over again.

Why Read:

Curran’s version of courting, more info about Kate’s upbringing, brilliant characterisation and development of secondary characters, vegetarian were-tiger.

Quote that best sums up the lead character:

“Nothing. After all the shit we’d gone through together, he shut me out. Just like that. The loyalty that bound me to Derek meant nothing. The years I’d spent looking out for Jim while he looked out for me as we teamed up on Guild gigs meant nothing. With one executive decision, Jim had cast aside the slender standing I had clawed and fought for with the Pack for the last six months. He just sat there, silent and cold, a complete stranger.”

Review:

This book was heartbreaking in a lot of ways, Derek the young werewolf is injured trying to do the right thing which leads to Jim going awol from Curran.  There’s illegal fights to the death, mythical creatures and an adorable were-tiger.  Of course, Kate ends up involved which means she’s hiding things from Curran which doesn’t make him a happy cat.

Since when do you give a crap about my welfare anyway? I think you’re confused as to the nature of our relationship. You and I, we don’t get along. You’re a psychopathic control freak. You order me around and I want to kill you. I’m a pigheaded insubordinate ass. I drive you mad and you want to strangle me.”

“Once! I did it once!”

Okay, I admit it I read some pretty hot books.  What can I say, I like a bit of heat in my romance, and in my food too actually but that’s another story.  The fact that Ilona Andrews has created a couple with off the scale heat whilst keeping them out of bed is amazing to me.  The way Curran treats Kate as an alpha shifter shows everyone around Kate that the Beast Lord considers Kate his mate.  It’s just too bad Kate doesn’t really know the rules of the game.

Kate feels so deeply about everything that at times it’s painful to watch.  And yet the author portrays it so beautifully with a sometimes scant use of words.  By the simple means of telling the audience that Kate had drank every last drop of the coffee Curran had made for her at the end of book two, she shows the tenuous way Kate is beginning to let herself care for the Beast Lord.  Kate knows by this stage how important a ritual providing food is to him and she knows, even more specifically, that him providing coffee means the he actually understands her loneliness. What she doesn’t know is that Curran is working on an entirely different courtship ritual than what normally happens in her world.

I don’t want this review to sound like the entire book is focused on Kate and Curran’s relationship but in truth, for me, it was at the heart of everything Kate did.  There is a very real threat of Derek going loup when he wakes up and Kate doesn’t want Curran to deal with the responsibility of putting him to death.  Her protection of him is instinctual and instantaneous. Oh, and when they fight in the ring together… well I never knew fight scenes could be packed with that much emotion.  Besides if I tell you much more about the plot then I run the risk of some major spoilers.

This really has turned into one of those “why the hell didn’t I read these sooner” series.  This book is just as tightly plotted as the first two and the world building continues to be immaculate. What else can I say except – GET READING!

Audiobook Review:

Renee Raudman makes these books into something special.  Her ability to pack emotion into her voice and her sense of timing continues to add depth and drama to the narration.  The way she read Kate’s confrontation with Jim broke my heart.

Check Out:

http://www.ilona-andrews.com/

